Health and Social Care – BTEC


Exam Board: BTEC


BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma in Health and Social Care

Key Information

1080 Guided Learning Hours

Equivalent in size to three A Levels.

Content: 13 units of which 8 are Mandatory and 4 are external.

  • Mandatory content (72%)
  • External assessment (42%)

The quali­fication is a two-year, full-time qualifi­cation designed for sixth form learners who want to continue their education through applied learning and who aim to progress to higher education and ultimately to employment in the health and social care sector.

The content of this qualifi­cation has been developed in consultation with higher education to ensure it supports progression to higher study. Employers and professional bodies have also been involved in order to confi­rm that the content is also appropriate for those interested in working in the sector.

What will I study?

In addition to the knowledge, understanding and skills that underpin study of the health and social care sector, this quali­fication gives learners experience of the breadth and depth that will prepare them for further study in the sector. This includes the opportunity for learners to choose a health studies pathway with options reflecting the progression opportunities in health care. Learners taking this quali­fication will study eight mandatory units:

  • Human Lifespan Development
  • Working in Health and Social Care
  • Work experience
  • Anatomy & Physiology
  • Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs
  • Principles of Safe Practice in Health and Social Care
  • Enquiries into Current Research in Health and Social Care
  • Promoting Public Health

To develop a better understanding of the demands of the sector to demonstrate their commitment and interest in the sector when applying for further study, learners are required to undertake work experience as part of the course and for learners.

Learners will study ­five optional units (selected by the academy) from the following pathway:

  • Sociological Perspectives
  • Psychological Perspectives
  • Supporting Individuals with Additional Needs
  • Nutritional Health
  • Physiological disorders and their care

What could this qualification lead to?

This qualification is the main focus of a two-year study programme of learning and is equivalent to three A Levels, meaning that learners will be fully prepared for a range of health and social care degree programmes.

The qualification is intended to carry UCAS points and is recognised by higher education providers as contributing to meeting admission requirements to many relevant courses, for example:

  • BSc (Hons) in Nursing
  • BA (Hons) in Social Work
  • BSc (Hons) in Physiotherapy
  • BSc (Hons) in Occupational Therapy
  • BSc (Hons) in Speech Therapy
  • BA (Hons) in Health and Social Care.